12 resolutions by Lango leaders toremember minister Charles Engola

Lango joint regional council meeting that convened yesterday to pay tribute to slain minister of state for labor, employment and industrial relations Rtd. Col. Okello Engola has listed 12 resolutions to be implemented in his memory.

Oyam district chairman Benson Dila Oyuku laid these resolutions that were unanimously adopted by council held at Oyam Boma grounds.

The resolutions include; tarmacking of Iceme-Oyam town Council road, promoting the late Rtd. Col. Okello Engola to Lt. General, government should take care of Okello Engola’s family and educate his children, ending insecurity caused by cattle theft by suspected Karamojong cattle rustlers and deploying former Amuka militia group to fight the cattle rustlers.

Others are; Upgrading Anyeke Health Center IV to a general hospital, government should complete projects started by Okello Engola including the construction of Agoba vocational school and another in Apac district.

Oyam district speaker, Otyeno Nommy who chaired the meeting tasked government to ensure thorough investigation into the murder of Rtd. Col. Okello Engola.

The clan leader of Otikokin Sam Engola while giving the life history of Okello Engola promised to support members of the clan that Okello Engola was paying school fees for.

Otuke Francis Abola called for further training of VIP bodyguards to mitigate such murders like that of Engola who was gunned down by his body guard, Wilson Sabiiti at his home in Kyanja, Kampala earlier last week.

Alebtong district chairman demanded that another person from Lango should be given Okello Engola’s ministerial post.

Oyam district woman MP Santa Alum Ogwang pledged to work with Lango leaders to ensure the resolutions are effectively implemented.

Government chief whip also Ajuri county MP, Denis Hamson Obua also pledged to forward the resolutions to the government. The burial of the fallen minister is slated for this Saturday, 13th/May/2023 at his ancestral home in Awangi village, Iceme Sub County, Oyam district.

By Arao Denis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *