52 students across Lango sub regions selected to benefit from university loan scheme.

At least 52 students from Lango have been selected to benefit from the students’ loan scheme for academic year 2022/2023.

These are among 625 students selected to benefit from the program across the country.

In Lango, Lira district got 8 slots, Dokolo 3 slots, Kole 10 slots, Alebtong 6 slots, Oyam, 14 slots and Amolatar district, 4 slots.

On the other hand, Kwania district received 4slots, Ouke, 4 slots while Apac did not get any slot.

The students will study at Bugema University, Butabika school of Psychiatric clinical officers, Gulu College of health sciences, Gulu University, Isbat University, Kabale University, Kyambogo University, Lira school of comprehensive nursing, Makerere University, Lira University, Mulago school nursing and Uganda technical college, Lira.

Sam Opira the secretary education and health of Apac district local government said Apac district could have failed to get a slot in the government loan scheme due to poor publicity of the program.

Opira asked government to sensitize the public on the students’ loan scheme to encourage more students to benefit from the project.

Eng. Dr. Charles Wanna Etyem the chairperson higher education students financing board attributed the low number of beneficiaries selected for the program on delays by the joint admissions board to verify the students.

By Arao Denis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *