Councilors arrested for locking offices-Lira

Police in Lira City have in custody a total of five Lira district councillors over allegations of illegally locking offices.

On Thursday, June 29, 2023, a section of Lira district councillors staged a protest over delayed payment of their emoluments by the government. During their protest, the local leaders locked some offices, a move that brought businesses to a standstill.

Lira City DPC Joseph Bakaleke, who commanded the operation to arrest the five councillors, identified the suspects as Denis Owera of Itek Sub County, Moses Odunu of Amach Town Council, Bonny Okello of Ayami Sub County, Isaac Ojok of Agweng Town Council, and Charles Enanga of Agali Sub County.

DPC Bakaleke described it as illegal for the councillors to lock public offices.

The councilors in a heated exchange with police at the main gate, said they want their money/allowances paid clocking to about 12m shillings.

According to Lira LC5 chairman Hon Richard Cox Okello Orik, what they are demanding is what is not there, all their monuments were paid.

Okello however told the DPC that stubborn people led by Okello Boney and Ojok Isaac locked the gate.

By Arao Denis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *